Rasmalai- A traditional bengali dessert recipe for your sweet tooth

Last weekend we arranged a small party in our house.  As because I get time to cook and I love to cook , I prepared everything from scratch. Here I want to mention that, although I don’t think myself as an expert chef, but undoubtedly desperate enough  to give new recipes a try. I planned to make ‘Rasmalai’ for the first time in my life. I am really thankful to my Friends, who came to my party and enjoyed my experimental dish with such a praise and appreciation.

Rasmalai, which is actually small cheese balls ( known as RASOGOLLA in Bengal and RASGULLA in other parts of the world) dipped in a sweet creamy milk, is a traditional bengali delicacy for your sweet tooth.  I made the rasgullas at home (think, how desperate I am). But you can buy rasgullas from any Indian grocery store.

Making Rasmalai is divided in two parts. First one is to make or buy the rasgullas and second one is to make the malai or cream for the rasgullas.

Ingredients I used:

Milk 5 cups, vinegar 2 tablespoon, water 2 cups, sugar 1.5 cups evaporated milk 1 can, condensed milk 1 can, cardamom powder 1/2 tea spoon, pistachio and almond slices for garnishing, rosewater (optional) 1 tea spoon.

Boil 3 cups milk (I prefer whole milk, but you can use 2%) and add the vinegar. The milk will curdled up. Take the chhana (Indian cheese) in a cheese cloth, place it under cold water  and then sqeeze . Now keep it in a plain surface and knead well with your hands for at least 5 minutes. It should be formed like a smooth silky dough. Take equal parts and make balls. Now take pressure cooker or any other heavy bottomed pan with a lid. Boil the water and sugar and make a syrup. Place the cheese balls in the boiling syrup, close the lid and boil in medium heat for 7- 8 minutes.  Now turn the heat low and boil for another5-6 minutes.  Rasgullas should be ready.  Don’t worry if it doesn’t turn out perfect. You can still make rasmalai with those imperfect rasgullas. Generally it takes a few trial and error sessions to make perfect rasgullas.  But as I was desperate enough, I used that ‘error version’ for my dish. If you want to avoid all these hard work and scared  of hard, broken or not-so-perfect results then just go to an Indian grocery store and buy the canned rasgullas.

Now take a heavy bottomed nonstick pan and add  2 cups of milk. Stir constantly, otherwise it will burn at the bottom. Add the evaporated milk and give it a good boil. When the milk will be reduced in 1 and 1/2 cup or to your desired consistency, add condensed milk. Add cardamom powder and the rasgullas. Boil for another 3-4 minutes. Rasgullas should be soft and absorb the sweetness and aroma of the milk.  Turn the heat off. Add chopped almond and pistachio for garnishing and allow it to cool. When it comes to room temperature add the rose water. Cover it and refrigerate. It should be served chill.

Until you are ready to make your own I have saved some pictures for you. Now it’s time to enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Saikat Mukherjee
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 15:21:59

    u will meet a success with your blog,you are really doing more than enough for your blog, I am amazed that you have remembered to take pictures of the steps of your recipe :). nice going dear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

