Last night I went back to them…

I am not sure whether I should write it or not. But it seems to be obvious. Just after my husband (Santanu) left for work, I took  the laptop and started writing. This morning is cloudy..dark and heavy. I don’t know, last night I could not sleep , rather I did not want to.  My loving family , my parents, in law,my brother, my grand parents- all of them are so far away…  I was thinking of love. Love that I felt throughout my life , through everyday occurrences to them. Santanu was sleeping beside me. And wide awake I was just looking at him.  I went few years back when I first got my love . That was a crazy feeling.  Loving someone intensely  was itself a craziness.

Suddenly my Dida’s (grandma) face appeared . She was a lady of honor and gratitude. I can  never knew what is true  respect and honor we should give to ourselves if I did not meet her.  I will write about her an entire post on another day. My Dida has a great impact on me.

I was thinking of my parental home in Berhampore. I have so many memories there. I can even smell my Ma when I think of her. Few months back when I was returning to US from India, my Bapi hugged me and told ”I will see you again”.  Don’t know why, those five words reminded me that time is flying away. Nobody knows when, where we will be knocked .

I always can feel a strange smell of turmeric and soap in my Ma.  I can distinguish her from the rest of the world . This was the smell of my childhood.  Did you ever feel something like that?

The next time when I will go to my home, Baba (My father in law) will not be there with a big smile. The people we love… will be lost in time.

Tears rolled down. I felt I love them, I loved those days of my life which I spent with them. I prayed to God  to bless them. May God allow me some more time to be loved and to love.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jocélio
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 20:09:41

    Boa sorte com seu Blog, está indo muito bem.

    Reply

    • sanchari2011
      Jul 31, 2011 @ 11:34:33

      as our primary languages are different I could not understand what does that mean.. Can you please translate it in English. By the way, I visited your blog yesterday. It is so rich… I mean I think you have a in-depth knowledge and expertise . But unfortunately because of the language I could not understand the details.

      Reply

  2. NICO VENGEANCE
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 06:48:42

    hahaha
    interesting..;)

    Reply

  3. Nathaniel Wagner
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 08:43:47

    Nice blog…and use google translate if you do not understand the language…that is what i do.

    Reply

  4. Saikat Mukherjee
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 14:42:34

    ga er lom khara hoye gelo!! extraordinary writing…I can never bring out such emotions from my writing…very nicely written mamon didi…
    I love you very much.

    Reply

  5. Saikat Mukherjee
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 14:44:09

    and mamon didi Jocélio meant to say “Good luck with your blog, is doing very well.”

    Reply

  6. Saikat Mukherjee
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 15:24:36

    yeah,just a simple option.

    Reply

  7. pensivetams
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 04:12:51

    Hi..I guess if you dust the old memories, you’ll have more to say. It was great reading about ‘the smell of your childhood’. Beautiful. I’ve read a similar vivid description on another blog. Maybe you’d like to take a look : http://bucktoothedsmiley.blogspot.com/2010/07/mammas-house_21.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

